18-19 April 2024, Turin, Italy


The Collegio Carlo Alberto and University of Torino are organising the annual workshop “The Organisation, Economics and Policy of Scientific Research” at the Collegio Carlo Alberto in Turin.

Contact us at: WOEPS@carloalberto.org


We aim to attract contributions from both junior and senior scholars on topics related to the organisation, economics and policy of scientific research. A minimum number of slots are reserved for junior researchers (PhD students or postdoc scholars who obtained their PhD in 2020 or later).

Contributions are invited on (but not limited to) one or more of the following topics:

  • Organisation of research activities in universities, PROs and private R&D labs
  • The evaluation of science policy
  • Science in the private sector and spillovers from scientific research
  • Role of individual researcher characteristics in scientific research
  • Science research networks and collaboration
  • Scientific careers and mobility

Submission Important dates

  • 14th January 2024: Deadline for submit previously unpublished papers or extended abstracts (min 3 pages)
  • 26th February 2024: Notification of acceptance
  • 1st April 2024: Deadline for submission of full papers

Up to 18 contributions will be selected by the scientific committee based on novelty, academic quality and relevance. No review or comments will be offered to the authors to supplement the decision. All presentations will have a discussant.

Participation, travel and accommodation expenses

Participation in the workshop is free for authors of selected papers.

We are offering a limited number of travel and accommodation support grants to junior scholars (PhD students or scholars, who obtained their PhD in 2020 or later) without local funds. To be considered for such grants please state your intention and your eligibility on the first page of your manuscript when submitting it.

Best Junior Scholar Paper

During the Workshop, a Special Mention in honour of PA David will be awarded to the Best Junior Scholar Paper. Eligible papers are works of one or more junior scholars (PhD students or scholars under the age of 40), priority will be given to papers with no co-authorship by senior scholars. Authors wishing to participate in the competition for the Best Young Scholar Paper, please indicate your intention and confirm your eligibility by including this information on the first page of your manuscript when submitting it.

Scientific Committee

▪ Cristiano Antonelli (Università di Torino)

▪ Catherine Beaudry (Polytechnique Montréal)

▪ Nicolas Carayol (Université de Bordeaux, GREThA)

▪ Michele Cincera (Université Libre de Bruxelles)

▪ Aldo Geuna (Università di Torino)

▪ Hanna Hottenrott (TUM)

▪ Stijn Kelchtermans (KU Leuven)

▪ Cornelia Lawson (University of Manchester)

▪ Jacques Mairesse (UNU-MERIT, Maastricht University)

▪ Fabio Montobbio (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore)

▪ Michele Pezzoni (Université Côte d’Azur)

▪ Henry Sauermann (ESMT Berlin)

▪ Sotaro Shibayama (University of Tokyo)

▪ Paula Stephan (Georgia State University; NBER)

▪ Valentina Tartari (Stockholm School of Economics)

▪ Reinhilde Veugelers (KU Leuven)

▪ Fabiana Visentin (UNU-MERIT, Maastricht University)

▪ John Walsh (Georgia Institute of Technology)

Local Organising Committee

▪ Aldo Geuna (Università di Torino)

▪ Daniel Souza (Politecnico di Milano)

▪ Eliana Diodati (Collegio Carlo Alberto, Università di Torino)

▪ Pierre Pelletier (Università di Torino, Université de Strasbourg)


The workshop will take place at the Collegio Carlo Alberto building in Piazza Arbarello, 8 (Turin), which formerly hosted the School of Economics of the University of Turin.

The Collegio Carlo Alberto is a foundation created in 2004 as a joint initiative of the Compagnia di San Paolo and the University of Torino. Its mission is to foster research and education in the social sciences, in accordance with the values and practices of the international academic community.

Contact us at: WOEPS@carloalberto.org